

## Energy Transition Forum, Vienna, June 6 – 7, 2019

Convened by the Institute of Energy for SE Europe (IENE) in partnership with Energy Center Europe (ECE)

## **Hilton Vienna Plaza Hotel**

## Forum Programme

	Day 1, Thursday, June 6, 2019
00.00 00.00	
08:00 - 09:00	Registration - Coffee
09:00 – 10:45	Session I: Opening of Forum  Chair: Mr. Costis Stambolis, Executive Director, IENE
	<ul> <li>Introductory remarks by:         <ul> <li>Mr. John Chadjivassiliadis, Chairman, IENE, Greece</li> </ul> </li> <li>Opening statements by:         <ul> <li>Mr. Janez Kopac, Director, Energy Community, Vienna</li> <li>Dr. Abderrezak Benyoucef, Head of Energy Studies Department, OPEC, Vienna</li> </ul> </li> <li>Mr. Tim Yeo, Chairman, The New Nuclear Watch Institute (NNWI), London, UK</li> <li>Mr. Daniel Kroos, Senior Programme Officer, Energy Security Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), Vienna</li> <li>Mr. John Roberts, Energy Security Specialist, Scotland, UK, Senior Research Associate, IENE</li> </ul>
	Keynote Speech by:  - Prof. Pantelis Capros, E3M Lab, NTUA and Chairman of IENE's Scientific Committee, Greece
10.45 44.45	Questions Coffice Record and actividation
10:45 – 11:15	Coffee Break and networking
11:15 – 13:30	<ul> <li>Session II: Towards a Cleaner Power Sector-Benefits and Opportunities</li> <li>Chair: - Prof. Pantelis Capros, E3M Lab, NTUA and Chairman of IENE's Scientific Committee, Greece</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>The Clean Energy Path</li> <li>Mr. Tom Van Ierland, Head of Unit C1 – Strategy &amp; Economic</li> <li>Assessment, DG Climate Action, European Commission, Brussels</li> </ul>

Ms. Milka Mumovic, Electricity and Statistics Expert, Energy Community, Vienna Dr. Bas Van Ruijven, Senior Research Scholar – Energy (ENE) Program, IIASA, Austria Dr. Aliki Van Heek, Unit Head 3E Analysis Planning and Economic Studies Section Division of Planning, Information and Knowledge Management Department of Nuclear Energy, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Vienna The Role of Gas to be chaired by Mr. John Roberts, Energy Security Specialist, Scotland, UK, Senior Research Associate, IENE Mr. Michael Woltran, VP Gas Innovation and Advocacy, OMV, Austria Prof. Andrey Konoplyanik, Adviser to Director and Professor of International Oil & Gas Business, Gazprom Export and Russian State Gubkin Oil & Gas University, Russia Mr. Chris Walters, Managing Consultant, Gas Strategies, UK Mr. Olivier Marquette, President, AES Bulgaria, Bulgaria Questions 13:30 - 14:30 Lunch 14:30 - 16:00 **Session III: Power Systems of the Future** Chair: - Mr. Hans Hutta, General Manager, ICM and Energy Center Europe, Austria The Industry Viewpoint Dipl.-Ing. Gerd Pollhammer, Head of Corporate Company, Smart Infrastructure CEE, SIEMENS, Austria Mr. Pierre Tardieu, Chief Policy Officer, WindEurope, Belgium Ms. Claudia Brânduş, European Affairs, ENEL, Brussels Mr. Tim Yeo, Chairman, The New Nuclear Watch Institute (NNWI), London, UK Mr. Anastasios Tosios, Commercial Director, EDA Attica, Greece Questions **Energy Transition and Markets** DI Gottfried Steiner, CEO Central European Gas Hub AG, Austria Ms. Eva Papadionysiou, Executive officer at Markets Operation Department, Hellenic Energy Exchange (HEnEx), Greece Representative from EXAA, Vienna **Questions** 16:00 - 16:20 Coffee Break and networking 16:20 - 18:00 **Session IV** Chair: - Mr. John Roberts, Energy Security Specialist, Scotland, UK, Senior Research Associate, IENE

	Energy Transition – The Regional View
	- Ms. Eugenia Gusilov, Director, Romania Energy Center – ROEC, Romania
	- Dr. Valentin Kunev, Manager, BBSPA, Bulgaria (tbc)
	- <b>Dr. Yurdakul Yigitguden</b> , Independent Energy Consultant and Former
	Co-ordinator of OSCE Economic and Environment Activities, Ankara,
	Turkey
	- Mr. Nicholas Frydas, Senior Energy Specialist, IFC, World Bank Group
	(tbc)
	Questions
	The Energy Security Angle
	- Mr. John Roberts, Energy Security Specialist Scotland, UK
	- Mr. Costis Stambolis, Executive Director, IENE
	- Mr. Daniel Kroos, Senior Programme Officer, Energy Security
	Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), Vienna
	Questions
18:00 - 19:00	Cocktail Reception
Day 2, Friday, June 7, 2019	
08:30 - 09:00	Registration – Coffee
09:00 - 09:30	Part I - Session V: The Role of Oil & Gas in the "Energy Transition" Era
	<ul> <li>Chair: -Mr. Gus Papamichalopoulos, Deputy Chairman IENE, Partner KG</li> <li>Law Firm</li> </ul>
09:20-11:30	Opening Address by:
03.20 22.00	- <b>Dr. Michael Losch</b> , Director General for Energy and Mining Austrian
	Federal, Ministry for Sustainability and Tourism, Austria
	Part II- Session V: The Role of Oil & Gas in the "Energy Transition" Era
	- Mr. Nick Butler, Chair, King's Policy Institute, King's College, London, UK
	- <b>Ms. Liana Gouta</b> , Group Director, Energy Policy and International Affairs
	- Hellenic Petroleum SA, Greece
	- Mr. Nicholas Jensen, EU Affairs Manager, Eurogas, Brussels
	- Mr. Dimitrios Kardomateas, Division Director for Strategy &
	Development, National Natural Gas System Operator (DESFA) S.A.,
	Greece
	- <b>Dr. Charles Ellinas</b> , Senior Fellow, Atlantic Council, UK
	Questions
11:30-11:50	Coffee Break
11:50 – 13:15	Session VI: The New Era for Energy Efficiency and Further RES Deployment
	<ul> <li>Chair: - Ms. Eugenia Gusilov, Director, Romania Energy Center – ROEC,</li> <li>Romania</li> </ul>
	- Prof Rainhard Haas Head E270-02 - Desearch Unit of Energy Economics
	- <b>Prof. Reinhard Haas,</b> Head E370-03 - Research Unit of Energy Economics

	and Efficiency, Technical University of Vienna
	- Mr. Costas Theofylaktos, Chairman of Energy Efficiency Committee and
	Secretary-General, IENE, Greece
	- <b>Prof. Astrid Gühnemann,</b> Head, Institute for Transport Studies (IVe),
	Vienna (tbc)
	- <b>DI Hubert Fechner,</b> Chair, Austrian Photovoltaic Technology Platform,
	Austria
	- DI Roger Hackstock, Managing Director, Austria Solar, Austria
	Questions
13:15 - 13:50	Panel Discussion on Energy Policies and Education to be chaired by Mr. John
	Roberts and with the participation of:
	Nick Butler, Hans Hutta, Costas Theofylaktos, Yurdakul Yigitguden, Reinhard
	Haas
13:50 - 14:00	Closing Statement
14:00 - 15:00	Lunch