

23rd National Energy Conference

Energy and Development 2018: Strategic Planning and Energy Markets Development

Eugenides Foundation, Athens, November 22-23, 2018

Preliminary Programme

| Day 1 - Thursday, 22 November 2018 | | |
|------------------------------------|---|--|
| 13:00 - 14:00 | Registration - Coffee | |
| 14:00 - 14:30 | Introductory remarks by the organizers Mr. John Chadjivassiliades: Chairman, IENE Mr. Costis Stambolis: Deputy Chairman and Executive Director, IENE Prof. Pantelis Capros: Chairman of the Scientific Council, IENE and Director of E3M Lab, NTUA | |
| 14:30 – 16:30 | Session I: "Energy Markets in Transition" | |
| | Coordinator: Mr. Gus Papamichalopoulos: Deputy Chairman, IENE and Partner, KG Law Firm | |
| | Mr. Kieran McNamara: Senior Analyst, International Energy Agency (IEA), Paris Ms. Paula Ceballos - Coloma: Policy Officer, Unit B2, DG Energy, Brussels | |
| | Dr. Leo Drollas: Independent Energy Consultant, London, UK Dr. Narsi Ghorban: Secretary to the Environment and Energy Commission of the | |
| | International Chamber of Commerce, Iran Committee, Tehran Q+A | |
| 16:30 – 17:00 | Coffee Break | |
| 17:00 – 19:00 | Session II: "Latest Developments in the European and Greek Electricity Market" | |
| | Topics: | |
| | The New Electricity Market-Target Model | |
| | Energy Exchange - New Players and New Services Expanding and Reinforcing Electricity Interconnections | |

| | Coordinator: Mr. Andreas Petropouleas: Chairman of IENE's Electricity Committee and Director of Energy Management, Elpedison | |
|----------------------------------|---|--|
| | Mr. Ioannis Retsoulis: Senior Advisor Wholesale Markets & Network Codes, Eurelectric, Brussels (Keynote Speaker) Dr. Nektaria Karakatsani: Member of the Board, Regulatory Authority of Energy (RAE) Dr Ioannis Kambouris: General Director of Greece's TSO, Independent Power Transmission Operator (IPTO) Mr. Antonis Kontoleon: Member of the Board, Hellenic Union of Industrial Consumers of Energy (UNICEN) Ms. Meliza Asimakopoulou: Manager of Regulatory Affairs, HERON SA Representative of Public Power Corporation S.A (PPC) | |
| 19:00 – 20:00 | A round table discussion follows with the participation of the above speakers. Cocktail Reception | |
| Day 2 - Friday, 23 November 2018 | | |
| 08:30 - 09:00 | Registration - Coffee | |
| 09:00 – 10:30 | Session III: "The Critical Role of Natural Gas and Renewables in Transforming the Greek Energy Markets: The Case of Greece" | |
| | Coordinator: Dr Ioannis Desypris: former Chairman, IENE , and Director of Regulatory Affairs, Mytilineos SA | |
| | Mr. Anastasios Tosios: Chairman of IENE's Natural Gas Committee and Commercial Director, EDA Attica (Keynote Speaker) Mr. John Chadjivassiliades: Chairman, IENE (Keynote Speaker) | |
| | A round table discussion follows with the participation of: | |
| | Mr. Panagiotis Ladakakos: Director, Hellenic Wind Energy Association (HWEA) Mr. Stylianos Loumakis: Director, Hellenic Association of Photovoltaic Energy Producers (SPEF) | |
| | Mr. George Polychroniou: Coordinating Director of Strategic, Development, Administrative and Informational Activities, Public Gas Corporation (DEPA) Mr. Dimitris Kardomateas: Division Director for Strategy, Development & Regulation, Hellenic Gas Transmission System Operator S.A. (DESFA) Mr. Michalis Thomadakis: Director of Energy Sector, Grant Thornton Greece | |
| 10:30 – 11:00 | Coffee Break | |
| 11:00 – 14:00 | Session IV: "Energy Transition in Greece and SE Europe" | |
| | Coordinator: Costis Stambolis: Vice Chairman and Executive Director, IENE | |
| | Address by H.E. the Minister of Environment and Energy Mr. George Stathakis | |
| | Speeches and Presentations to follow by: Mr. Manolis Panagiotakis: Chairman and CEO, Public Power Corporation S.A (PPC) | |

| | Mr. Eustathios Tsotsoros, Chairman and CEO, Hellenic Petroleum (HELPE) Mr. Manousos Manousakis, Chairman and CEO, Independent Power Transmission Operator (IPTO) Mr. Michalis Philippou: CEO, Hellenic Energy Exchange |
|---------------|--|
| | Small Break |
| | Mr. Dinos Benroubi: General Manager – Electric Power B.U./ PROTERGIA, Mytilineos S.A. Mr. Dimitris Tzortzis: CEO, Public Gas Corporation (DEPA) Dr Yannis Bassias: President and CEO, Hellenic Hydrocarbon Resources Management (HHRM) Mr. Dimitris Gontikas: Managing Director, Energean, Greece |
| 14:00 – 15:00 | Light Lunch |
| 15:00 – 17:00 | Session V: "Major Challenges for the European and Greek Energy Markets" |
| | Topics: |
| | Long Term Energy Planning (Energy Security, Fuel Supply, European Solidarity Mechanisms Crisis Management) Decarbonization of Electricity System Investments in Energy Infrastructure Coordinator and Keynote speaker on latest developments in the EU: Prof. Pantelis Capros, Chairman of the Scientific Council, IENE, Director of E3M Lab, NTUA Mr. Michalis Verroiopoulos: Secretary General for Energy and Mineral Resources, Ministry of Environment, Energy and Climate Change (Keynote Speaker) Mr. Nicola Battilana: Country Manager Greece, SNAM Dr. George Stamtsis: General Director, Hellenic Association of Independent Power Producers (HAIPP) (tbc) Ms. Maria Koulouvari: Deputy Director, Department of Guarantees of Origin & Energy Disclosure, Operator of RES & Guarantees of Origin (DAPEEP SA) Dr. Savvas Seimanidis: Chairman, European Renewable Energies Federation (EREF) and Representative of Greek Association of Renewable Energy Producers (GAREP) Mr. Costis Stambolis: Deputy Chairman and Executive Director, IENE A round table discussion to follow with the participation of the above speakers. |
| 17:00 – 17:15 | Coffee Break |
| 17:15 – 19:00 | Session VI: "Energy Efficiency, Smart Buildings and Smart Cities*" |
| | Topics: |
| | Improving Energy Efficiency for Buildings Confronting Energy Poverty Electric Mobility and the Transportation Sector Energy Digitalization |

| | Coordinator: Mr. Constantinos Theofylaktos: Chairman of Energy Efficiency Committee and Secretary-General, IENE |
|--------------|---|
| | Prof. Nikos Chatziargyriou: President & CEO, Hellenic Electricity Distribution Network Operator S.A. (HEDNO) (tbc) Mr. Spiros Kiartzis: Director Alternative Energy Sources and New Technologies, Hellenic Petroleum (HELPE) Dr George Ayeridis: Head of Division, Energy Efficiency Directorate, CRES Dr John Kaldellis: Professor, Soft Energy Applications and Environmental Protection Laboratory, University of West Attica (tbc) Mr. Dimitris Mezartasoglou: Head of Research, IENE |
| | A round table discussion to follow on "Energy Self-Sufficiency and Smart Islands" with the participation of the above speakers. |
| | Conference Summing Up by Conference Coordinator, Mr. Costis Stambolis, Vice Chairman and Executive Director, IENE |
| 19:30- 20:00 | Farewell Cocktail Reception |